I’m Feeling Crabby

My first food fail (and I’m sure there will be more).

Well this week I was REALLY craving crab cakes. I’ve never really had them until this summer and I fell in love! So I thought I would try to whip up some of my own. Well needless to say they didn’t turn out very well. But hey, oh well, I’m not an expert yet!

I found this great recipe for crab cakes on Pinterest of course and I will definitely have to try making it again. The recipe seemed really easy and had ingredients that I actually heard of. So I thought it was a good recipe to start with for a beginner like me. However, I think my major fail was the fact that I didn’t use actual crab meat. I used imitation crab which I thought would probably be the same… Well folks it’s not!

My advice for you all would be to find real crab! I went shopping at Festival Foods and probably should have asked if they had the real thing. Now I’ve learned my lesson for next time. But they kind of look good right?:)

Ingredients:
1 lb. Lump Crab Meat
2 Slices White Bread, crumbled, crust removed
1 Egg, beaten
2 tbsp. Mayo
1 tsp Seafood Seasoning (such as Old Bay Seasoning)
1 tsp. Worcestershire Sauce
1 tsp. Dijon Mustard
1 tbsp. Dried Parley Flakes
2 tsp. lemon juice
Extra virgin olive oil or butter (for sauteing)
Directions:
Combine all ingredients except the crab meat in a bowl. Gently fold in crab meat and chill for one hour before forming into three ounce cakes.
Drizzle 1 tbsp of olive oil or butter in the bottom of a medium skillet.  Saute the crab cakes over medium heat for 2-3 minutes per side, adding more olive oil or butter as needed.

I also made this very delicious horseradish sauce I found from another recipe, crab stuffed mushrooms.  I will probably attempt to make this as well because I’m kind of obsessed with mushrooms.

Horseradish Dipping Sauce
1/2 cup Greek yogurt or sour cream
2-3 tablespoons mayo
1 tablespoon horseradish
1/2 teaspoon fresh cracked pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2-1 teaspoon hot sauce
Directions
Stir to combine. For a fuller fat version you can use more mayo or substitute the mayo in this recipe for horseradish cream.
Even though this was a fail for me, I really suggest you guys trying to make it. Let me know how they turn out for you! And remember use real crab!

2 thoughts on “I’m Feeling Crabby

Leave a comment